top of page

About Us

The Society

The Society, formed in 2010, is a statutory body established under the Vanuatu Law Society Act.


It is the representative body for the legal profession and community of Vanuatu.


It is comprised of all lawyers who have been admitted to the practice of law in Vanuatu, as well as associate members in the broader legal community.


The objectives of the Society are:

(a) to promote the rule of law and the principles of good governance; 

(b) to promote high ethical standards in the practice of law in Vanuatu; 

(c) to promote the notion that every ordinary members of the Society are officers of the Court and have a duty to the Courts; 

(d) to adopt the Rules of etiquette and conduct of legal practitioners made by the Law Council under paragraph 15(2)(h) of the Legal Practitioners Act [CAP 119]; 

(e) to assist the Government and the Courts in all matters affecting legislation and law reform and the administration and practice of the law in Vanuatu; 

(f) to aid and give countenance to law reform and to represent the views, interests and intentions of the legal profession; and

(g) to represent, protect and assist members of the legal profession in Vanuatu as regards to conditions of practice of the law.

Executive Committee

Chairperson Colin Bright Leo

Secretary Didier Hamel-Landry

Treasurer Donna Titi

Executive Member Alain Frederic Obed

Executive Member Anita Cyrel

Executive Member Francis Tasso

bottom of page